img_1619

Photo credit to my cousin Katie & artwork by Jessica Wachter

Why do I have so many navy dresses? I didn’t intentionally set out to do this, but I guess I think navy is a neutral and goes with everything. Maybe I also think it’s not a “loud” color so it makes me blend in more? Maybe I just think it looks classic? I’m not sure, but I do have a navy dress posted here &Β hereΒ with at least 2 more blue dresses in my closet.

m6952

This particular navy dress is McCall’s 6952, a pullover, elastic waist dress with princess seams. I cut a size 10 in view B (minus the ruffle) for a more fitted look. I like the look but pulling it over my head is not my favorite. I should have lowered the arm hole as they are a bit tight on me, but I find that this often happens since I’m a little more broad than perhaps the typical size 10. Also, the facings tend to flip out so I could probably tack them down and/or top stitch them to make it better. I did create a center back seam and make a swayback adjustment so it wouldn’t blouse so much in the back. I also lengthened the skirt by 3″ I think. I also did French seams on everything.

img_1624

I used a mystery border print from my fabric I bought in France earlier this summer. It’s really soft and light so I’m guessing it’s rayon. Even though this is a summer dress, with leggings, this actually transitions to fall pretty well.

I do like this pattern and would recommend it. Marking where the elastic is supposed to go is a good idea, though. I did not and the back was WAY off so I redid it. The front is still a little uneven but I really didn’t want to redo the whole thing so I just left it. It’s a simple dress but has a lot of potential for customization and it’s pretty comfortable too.

Sigh. I miss warmer weather 😦 …

img_1620

