Tags

, , , ,

Now that Tom and I finally feel able to receive guests into our home, we have had a couple of instances of dinner guests. I decided to try a new angle at dinner, which happens every time…oh well. I got inspiration from an Italian cookbook called Frame by Frame Italian, which I received as a gift. It includes recipes for 4 courses of an Italian-style meal. Now, I don’t claim to know much of anything about the dinning habits of the Italians as I only visited their country for a few days and had no insider tips, but this kind of way of eating is fun!

Mom and Dad, first dinner guests

We served an antipasti in the form of a salad. More specifically, it was a mixed green salad with balsamic vinaigrette, shaved Parmesan, and toasted pine nuts. Yes, it was delicious.

Next, homemade ravioli served with butter (no pics). For the main course, we had some red wine braised beef and dessert was coffee ice cream.

We served each course separate from the other, which made things leisurely and better for digestion. It was a thoroughly pleasant experience that by the end we had enjoyed great conversation and didn’t feel uncomfortably full.

The husband enjoys making faces. Also, Mom’s telling Dad what’s up in the background…or something. He didn’t take it well. It seems to have driven him to drink! (Only kidding)

I thought I could be attentive to my guests because I did a lot of prep work and did not have to do much while my guests were here except assemble or boil water. Maybe this will become our new “thing.”

