Tags

, , , ,

Some serious jealousy has been happening lately. Why oh why is my apartment resembling a pig pen more than human lodgings? The realistic part of my brain says “Molly, you and Tom both work more than 40 hours in a week AND do not have the same days off AND you’ve been out of town almost every week for the last 2 months AND you just got married a month ago.” Reasonable, right? Yes.

Try telling the prideful part of my brain that or even the part of my brain that appreciates order and cleanliness.

Weakness. Gosh it is just a hard thing to admit about yourself and something one does not want to accept. ever. I’ve been doing something about weakness in the last few months.

Have you ever noticed that when someone is really really strong and good at something, you can feel kind of intimidated, as if you don’t measure up because you aren’t as good as they are? I know I’ve been there. Sometimes I feel really inspired from another’s strength but other times I just feel deflated.

When someone is seemingly weak, on the other hand, the pressure is off. You don’t have to judge yourself so harshly because someone has already gone before you and been un-perfect. I think this is how it is with God. He assumed the form, weaker than Himself, in the person of Jesus Christ. He entered the world as a tiny baby, at the mercy of anyone! He set the tone and made it ok for us regular humans to accept and embrace our littleness…that we would even rejoice in it, perhaps.

Painting by Rembrandt

That’s how I see my apartment situation. I’ve been somewhat powerless in that I can’t do everything: work a challenging, new, and time consuming job, cook, do laundry, clean, and organize my home. The weakness has a purpose and that purpose makes me realize my own situation, my own dependency on God, the Father. I know this because my big brother (aka Jesus) has gone before me.

