Tags

, ,

Pretty bold statement, no? I made the easiest bread I have ever made and possibly the easiest bread one could ever make. And it seems fitting that one of the 4 ingredients is beer. Beer denotes casual and relaxing which is a perfect description of my bread making experience.

I received many recipes from various family members during my bridal shower back in July and am happy to pull them back out and try my hand at a few. With both my husband and I a little under the weather, I just couldn’t get the idea of soup/stew out of my head. My heart was set on trying my mom’s cider stew, which was my first time making it. Very soon afterward, my little heart became set on having a side of beer bread, a new recipe from my aunt. The hardest part was finally deciding to make the special trip to go buy a can of beer.

I was really intrigued to try this bread recipe as it seemed too good to be true. It literally has only 4 ingredients and the hardest part is waiting for it to finish baking and those last 10 minutes letting it cool out of the oven. (That may have been the hardest.)

This contains this:

  • self rising flour
  • sugar
  • butter
  • beer

That’s it. Nothing else.

Maybe this does not surprise some people out there, some people who are all hip to beer bread. Maybe you already knew that it was absurdly easy. Well, this post serves 3 purposes: 1) To share my new-found enthusiasm for delicious beer bread, 2) to share the knowledge of the extreme beginner level of making beer bread with those who are uninformed, 3) to make some readers feel good in that they already knew about how easy it is to make beer bread (ego boost!).

All this talking about beer bread makes me want to eat a piece.

Beer Bread Recipe

  • 1/2c butter
  • 3c self rising flour
  • 2 Tbsp sugar
  • 12 oz can of beer (I used Budweiser…it seemed a step up from Keystone)

Melt the butter. (I melted it in the pan but do as you will.) Coat a 9×5 loaf pan with butter and reserve the rest. In a separate bowl, mix the flour, sugar, and beer together. Pour into pan. Bake at 375 for 45 minutes. The last five minutes of baking I poured the remaining butter over the top. Let cool for at least 10 mins. (Another variation is to pour the butter over top immediately before baking it at 350 for 50-60 mins. I don’t know what the difference is.)

