Tags

, ,

Hello, friends! When I was visiting my parents a couple of weeks ago, I knew I just needed to take advantage of their fully stocked and now beautifully updated kitchen. I felt like a professional chef (or something) in that kitchen with the new high-definition countertops and totally modern glass and stone back-splash. I had a very hard time deciding what to make, though. I flip-flopped between a couple different recipes but finally decided to make this particular cake that I had my eye on since I got my One Girl Cookies cookbook.

The new kitchen

Lemon Olive Oil Cake intrigued me, so one morning I just made it and it turned out to be one of the most unique cakes I have ever made. (That’s probably not that impressive. I haven’t lived that long and I don’t generally bake a lot of cakes.)

There were a few of distinct parts in making this cake that I thought were unique. First of all, I zested a lemon and put ¾ c. of olive oil into a cake batter. Don’t think I’ve ever had that combo for a sweet treat.

I also had to whip up a few egg whites with the Kitchen Aid mixer and folded that into the batter…not sure if I’ve done that before.

Lastly, I sprinked a teaspoon of sea salt and a tablespoon of raw sugar over the top before I put it in the oven…almost certain I’ve never done that. Here, I would like to thank Starbucks for supplying me with the “sugar in the raw” for this recipe. It would have been annoying to buy a whole container of the stuff. I do so appreciate the little packets 🙂

The finished product was very light, like an angel food cake. It had a light lemon and smooth olive oil taste. Well, I don’t really know how to describe the olive oil taste. It was really subtle and complimented the lemon well. Since there was the raw sugar and coarse salt on top it was such an interesting combination of flavors and textures. It was sweet, salty, and smooth tasting and the texture was light but still somewhat substantial with a slight crunch from the sugar and salt topping.

Since this cake is not a dessert-y kind of cake, it was consumed at any time of the day for the next week, but my personal preference was with coffee and so for me, it was a breakfast cake. (Yes, cake can be for breakfast. My rule of thumb: If it can go well with coffee, then it is a suitable breakfast. Also, fruit pie is an ideal breakfast.)

