Tags

, ,

Each week, I have a post entitled “Thursday Thoughts.” This is where I take time to explore the deeper parts of life like creativity and God and stuff. Enjoy!

I have a special treat for you lovely readers this week! Instead of hearing my incredible insights, you have the opportunity to hear from a lovely Australian lady by the name of Emily Sims of Thoughts & Biro Sketches! She originally wrote what’s below as a blog post for her church in Sydney and shared it with me on my Thursday Thoughts post about God as the Creator. When I read what she had to say, I was impressed by how well she expressed herself on the subject of God and creativity. I just had to share it with you! (Photos and emphasis added)

Alex (my husband) and I made this little clip for Channel North Africa. I envisioned something colourful that would appeal to children and speak simply of Genesis 1:26-27

Then God said: Let us make mankind in our image, in our likeness, so that they may rule over the fish in the sea and the birds in the sky, over the livestock and all the wild animals, and over all the creatures that move along the ground. So God created man in his own image, in the image of God he created them; male and female he created them.

From time to time I hear people say “I’m not very creative” or “I’m not a creative type” or “I wish I was creative, but I’m not” – as though a person is either capable or incapable of creativity! This has always saddened me because I believe we as humankind are made by a supremely interesting, intelligent, loving, purposeful Creator God. We are made in His image and therefore creative in His image. Each and every one of us. We have the ability to “transcend traditional ideas, rules, patterns, relationships and create meaningful new ideas, forms, methods, interpretations”* because God himself does, and enables us to do so. God demonstrates this creative ability not only in the awesome act of bringing about the world and the cosmos but also in the redemption and restoration of man. What could be more compelling and awe-inspiring than God becoming flesh in order to reveal himself fully? What could be more beautiful and heart-wrenching than Christ overcoming our sin and death on the cross? Would could be more mysterious and breathtaking than a Holy Spirit given to fill and lead us?

I think David truly believed in God’s creative ability when he pleaded in psalm 51: “Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me”. We have a powerful, intentional Father who desires to redeem us; purify our thoughts and place in our hearts a right spirit, a holy one.

Beyond that I think we are called to be creative in the way we live; regardless of our age, location, professional, familial or economic status – we are called to approach our situations differently because we are set free from sin and are enabled by a loving Father, Saviour and Holy Spirit. Creativity then is not just artistic expressions visusally, musically or other – creativity it is a way of living as believers; imagining, constructing and growing our lives around the truth. Thinking outside the box. Going against the grain. Revealing beauty in ugliness. Showing mercy in he face of injustice. Answering the call to be bold, honest, faithful. Loving our enemies. Treasuring relationships over possessions. Pursuing community over individualism… There’s a creative heart at work who purposely speaks to an eldery neighbour, gives full attention to a questioning youth or a grizzling baby, initiates ways of empowering the handicapped and the disadvantaged, makes an anxious patient laugh, worships God in noticing a blue summer sky or the crunch of autumn leaves underfoot.

My challenge to myself, to anyone, is to see the potential witness that being alive in Christ and creatively engaging with work, pursuits, relationships and surroundings, can be. You don’t need a paintbrush or a bassoon or nimble toes (though all those things are good) – all you need is an honest faith, an open heart, an imaginative mind and a willing spirit.

God made us humans in his image; we participate in creative intelligence, giftedness, originality. We all have the faculty of imagination deep within us, waiting, like a seed to be watered and fertilised. Imagination gives us pictures by which to see things the way they can be, or the way they are. ~Luci Shaw

